mediaholics
FREE GIFT WRAPPING
mediaholics
NATIONWIDE
mediaholics
CASH ON DELIVERY

Before We Were Yours

 
 
SKU: MH002083
P 1,665.00
Author: Lisa Wingate
Genre: Fiction
Format: Hardcover

Description:
An engrossing novel inspired by shocking real events the kidnappings and illegal adoptions of children conducted by the notorious Tennessee Children's Home Society Before We Were Yours is a poignant, uplifting tale for readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale."
  
Two families, generations apart, are forever changed by a heartbreaking injustice in this poignant novel, inspired by a true story, for fans of Orphan Train and The Nightingale.
  
Memphis, 1939. Twelve-year-old Rill Foss and her four younger siblings live a magical life aboard their family's Mississippi River shantyboat. But when their father must rush their mother to the hospital one stormy night, Rill is left in charge - until strangers arrive in force. Wrenched from all that is familiar and thrown into a Tennessee Children's Home Society orphanage, the Foss children are assured that they will soon be returned to their parents - but they quickly realize the dark truth. At the mercy of the facility's cruel director, Rill fights to keep her sisters and brother together in a world of danger and uncertainty.
  
Aiken, South Carolina, present day. Born into wealth and privilege, Avery Stafford seems to have it all: a successful career as a federal prosecutor, a handsome fiance, and a lavish wedding on the horizon. But when Avery returns home to help her father weather a health crisis, a chance encounter leaves her with uncomfortable questions and compels her to take a journey through her family's long-hidden history, on a path that will ultimately lead either to devastation or to redemption.
  
Based on one of America's most notorious real-life scandals - in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country - Lisa Wingate's riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

Quantity: 
 
 

YOU MIGHT ALSO LIKE